Guest Reviews

Over the years we have received some wonderful compliments and very much appreciate receiving feedback from our guests.  Here are some recent testimonials and reviews from guests who have stayed.

Superb holiday!

Amazing property in an excellent location.

Response from Helen at Cornish Holiday
Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Andy – August 2021 (Booking.com) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

The property was absolutely spotless upon our arrival. There was a cleaning pack and two welcome packs with biscuits, coffee, tea, milk sachets, and hot chocolate. Perfect to get started when you turn up. The property is well looked after and everything works as it should. We are a family of two adults and four children. The house was easily big enough for us to fit in for two weeks. It has a dedicated parking space and Hengar Manor is a really nice site - lots of space and well maintained throughout. We had a great time and would happily recommend the property to anyone looking to holiday in Cornwall.

Response from Helen at Cornish Holiday
Thanks for your lovely review. Glad you had a great time, we hope to hear from you again in the future.

Richard – August 2021 (Air BnB) – Hengar Manor – St Tudy, Bodmin.

Love this place

Its our 3rd time staying here and we have already booked for next year. We love this place so much . Its so lovely and clean and has everything you could ever need. It's location is perfect for getting about. It has all the shops you could need and also has a lovely cafe that do amazing cakes , hot drinks and food. We cannot wait to return . Would definitely recommend it to others . Also the complimentary chilled wine was a nice way to start the holiday

W385ORjulies – August 2021 (Tripadvisor) – Meadow Rise – St Columb Major

Superb

Easy access to the beach

Wasn't clear that dogs weren't allowed during peak season, however host was very accommodating and allowed our boys to come still.

Cornish Holiday response:
Thank you for your review. When you booked with us we were still unsure about allowing dogs all year but have since made the change to allow up to 2 dogs all year round. Sorry for any confusion this may have caused.

Harriet – July 2021- (Booking.com) – Bodannon, Porthtowan.

Good value and nice little area/base to get about.

Spacious and comfy accommodation. Good amenities. We especially liked the beach box, used it everyday and good value. Maybe worth adding wetsuits and charging a bit more.

Our only one issue was there was lots of boys playing football on the green til at least 10 every night and banging the ball against our door. Became a pain as we have a baby and young one who were kept awake. Nothing to do with the property tho.

Cornish Holiday response:
Thank you for your review, it's good to know you liked the property and the beach box. Sorry to hear you had some issues with other holidaymakers. We hope this wouldn't put you off returning. Kind regards, Helen

James – August 2021 (Booking.com) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

Lovely house. Great facilities, loved it being in a quieter area.

The sofa was very large. Supply’s around the property. We didn’t need anything.

Kel – August 2021 (Booking.com) – Meadow Rise – St Columb Major.

Fabulous Accommodation.

Beds are extremely clean and very fresh as well as so comfortable. Pillows very soft and a quiet location for a good night sleep. Communication with Helen is excellent as is the welcome pack and gift of wine. Whole of the accommodation was immaculate and Covid secure. Lots of storage and plenty of space. Super amenities in the lodge, dishwasher etc.
On site the organisation of the pool was good although spa a little too cool and a very relaxing atmosphere in the Tavern.

Michele – August 2021 (Booking.com) – Hengar Manor – St Tudy. Bodmin

Comfortable house in a good location

Very comfortable and spacious house. Nice holiday park and facilities (swimming pool, fishing lakes, small but useful convenience store, etc). Good location for travelling to beaches and attractions in Cornwall

Nothing really not to like, only very minor flaws to mention - narrow roads in the area, some time required to travel to the main resorts, some house features a bit outdated.

Marco – August 2021 (Booking.com) – Hengar Manor – St Tudy, Bodmin

Excellent holiday home

Spacious, very well equipped, clean and comfortable. Hot tub great. Really good welcome pack.

Penny – June 2021 (Booking.com) – Bodannon, Porthtowan.

It was lovely accommodation in a beautiful area!
The pictures reflected the house perfectly. I would highly recommend!

Madaleine – July 2021 (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan.

Good sized holiday home

Plenty of room, two bathrooms, well equipped kitchen, excellent location.

Attila – June 2021 (Booking.com) – Hengar Manor – St Tudy, Bodmin

Amazing Stay - Great Hosts

Everything was great and great value for money. Highly recommended.
It could have a few more toilet rolls.

Cornish Holiday response:
Thank you for your review, good to hear you had a great time. We will pass your comments onto the cleaners. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Dimitriospeg – June 2021 (Booking.com) Hengar Manor – St Tudy, Bodmin

Perfect holiday home

Everything was perfect

Fantastic house, had everything we needed, really clean,
A lovely welcome package ( tea,coffee,sugar,biscuits,) milk in the fridge and a nice bottle of wine 🍷
Also a welcome goody bag for both our dogs 🐕, lovely touch,,
Will definitely be returning
Thank you Helen and Alec, keep up the good work

Anonymous – June 2021 (Booking.com) Meadow Rise – St Columb Major

Go have yourself a wonderful time you will not be disappointed.

Excellent. Well thought out accommodation, plenty of room to move about, The kitchen was well stocked with all the essentials a family would need. The kitchen, living room, bedrooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean. A more than adequate supply of sanitisers. The hosts sorted out a food order from a local farm which was waiting for us on arrival.
The beach, surfing, cafe, pubs and convenience store were within walking distance. All in all I would recommend a stay, a most pleasant holiday had by my family. Will be back again in the near future.



Leslie – May 2021 (Booking.com) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

Amazing location!
Beautiful beach just 5 mins walk away with stunning sunsets! Hot tub was amazing. Great communication! Will be coming again!

Zasha – June 2021 (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

Lovely base for exploring

Perfect location for exploring the local beaches and activities, mostly that were toddler and dog friendly (of which there were hundreds!). A small walk to the local shops, bakery and pubs - accommodation was perfect for our little family, the bathroom is small but has everything you need and makes good use of the space. Again, the garden was small but our toddler really enjoyed the space - there is a playground nearby in case you need it too! Neighbours were really friendly, as were the locals! Highly recommend!

Sally – June 2021 (Booking.com) – Meadow Rise – St Columb Major

A lovely family holiday.
The holiday home was lovely, very well equipped, clean and very comfortable.
The location is very good for exploring Cornwall. There was nothing not to like.

Julie – May 2021 (Booking.com) – Hengar Manor – St Tudy, Bodmin

Lovely Holiday Home.
House was really comfortable with everything we needed. Washing machine was a god send. We was left a welcome pack of tea coffee and biscuits and the bottle of wine was lovely that was left in the fridge. Also there was a box of everything for us to use for the barbecue. Would not hesitate to recommend this holiday home to others. It was also hot and sunny the whole week we was there. Checkout time we felt was a bit too early. Could of done with check out being 10am rather than 9am

Cornish Holiday response:
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We do understand about check out times but we need to give our cleaners as much time as possible with all the extra checks they need to do.

Cheryl – June 2021 (Booking.com) – Meadow Rise – St Columb Major

Amazing Place.
The place was amazing, very clean with everything we needed for a great holiday. Loved the place and the surrounding area, definitely worth a visit and would love to stay again.

Wendy – June 2021 (Booking.com) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

An excellent stay! Clean, comfortable and well equipped. Conveniently situated for travelling around.

Gary – May 2021 (Booking.com) – Meadow Rise – St Columb Major

Excellent holiday venue. Good location, close to everything in that part of Cornwall, good facilities on site including an indoor swimming pool. Comfortable, clean and very safe holiday home with everything you need.

D.Williams – May 2021 (Website Booking) (Review on Trip Advisor) – Hengar Manor – St Tudy, Bodmin

Fantastic. All perfect.

Fabio – April 2021 (Booking.com) – Hengar Manor – St Tudy, Bodmin

Helens place was such a lovely holiday home away from home! It was the perfect size for me and my boyfriend and was around 20 minute drive to Newquay where we went surfing. On sunny days the conservatory gets super warm like a sauna which was great for drying the wetsuits! Great sized kitchen, comfy beds, lots of utensils and all the right appliances, great water pressure and lovely garden! Such a perfect stay and would definitely look to stay again when we next get to come down south.

Eloise – May 2021 (Air BnB) – Meadow Rise – St Columb Major

Beautiful place
We had the most beautiful Christmas in this lovely apartment. The hot tub was such a lovely touch. The bedrooms are all great size and the area was extremely clean and quiet. Will be booking again next year for sure :)

Indianna – December 2020 (Trip Advisor) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

A Great venue in a lovely Cornish location. Sparklingly clean and great host.

Phil – December 2020 (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

Superb

Everything was clean as informed. Not the property fault but there was no external lights on the pathway

Cornish Holiday response:
Thanks for your review. Glad you had a good stay. We will bring up the lighting on the pathway with the management company.

Mark – 7th November 2020 (Booking.com) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

Fabulous eco lodge minutes from the beach- lots of space for a family of five and a brilliant hot tub to keep kids entertained, even in the rain !

Annabel – October 2020 (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

A brilliant space in a perfect location for exploring Cornwall! The house was very clean when we arrived and had everything we could possibly need for our holiday. We will definitely be back- thank you!

Megan – October 2020 (Air BnB) – Meadow Rise – St Columb Major

Great value, well equipped, quiet location, everything you need would highly recommend.

Martin – 13th September 2020 (Booking.com) – Meadow Rise St Columb Major

"A lovely great clean and tidy property, well equipped and a short walk to the beach. Great, responsive hosts. A pleasurable visit."

Lucy – October 2020 (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

"We arrived to a lovely clean Covid safe house with all precautions in place. The house is comfortable and very cosy. The bed was extremely comfortable. Everything we needed for our stay was there also added extra touches. The communication from the owners is clear and very informative. We would love to return and hope to do so in the near future. Thankyou for a lovely stay. Well located for all nearby places to visit."

Amanda – September 2020. Trip Advisor – Meadow Rise St Columb Major

"Excellent property and perfect for a beach holiday. The location was ideal for our holiday. With the beach just a short walk away, the 'beach box' provided everything we needed including body boards (and bags) and buckets/nets for rock pooling.

Upon our arrival it was clear to see that a lot of time has been invested in cleaning and making the property COVID safe, this included plenty of hand sanitiser, anti-bac wipes etc.

At the time of booking our holiday, we ordered the 'Brownie Box', containing locally sourced strawberries, Cornish Clotted Cream and locally made chocolate brownies, which was in the property on our arrival and was a lovely tasty welcome when we got there.
To finish each day, we were able to relax and unwind in the private hot tub.

Needless to say, we will be visiting again!

Cubley D, 21/09/2020 Trip Advisor – Bodannon Porthtowan

"Very enjoyable. Would definitely stay again."

Mark, September 2020, Booking.com – Bodannon Porthtowan

"Really lovely stay at Helen and Alec’s property. The location is brilliant - the nearest beach is only a short walk, and there’s a nice pub/restaurant, a chip shop, and a surf hire place down there too. Best to buy your food and drinks on the way in as the local shop was quite small, but great for the little extras you need."

Kat, September 2020 (Air BnB) – Bodannon Porthtowan

"Great value. Really nice property and in a good location. Would definitely recommend!"

Henry, September 2020 (Air BnB) – Bodannon Porthtowan

"A lovely stay, very clean and ideal location to the beach. The hot tub was a fab added extra would definitely recommend."

Lucy, September 2020 (Air BnB) – Bodannon Porthtowan

"Great holiday home. This is our second time back and it's just as good as I remembered . Immaculately clean and now with added precautions for this current time. Hand gel outside the front door as well as inside and a nice thoughtful touch of complementary masks and handgels. All that aside the house is stunning . Great locations with all stunning beaches within a short drive. A good range of shops in the village. Nice tray of goodies on arrival and a nice bottle of wine in the fridge as well as milk and fresh orange. Very much appreciated after the long drive. Have already booked for next year and cannot wait. Highly recommended"

J. Savage, August 2020, Meadow Rise St Columb Major

"Home from home. First visit, will definitely be back. Very clean, well equipped following the covid guidelines. Perfect for exploring this part of Cornwall."

D5335LQdavew, August 2020, Trip Advisor, Meadow Rise, St Columb Major

"Lovely. Second time here cannot wait to come again lovely clean home with everything you need just love Cornwall."

Zooty – August 2020, Trip Advisor, Meadow Rise St Columb Major

"Very well maintained small house in nice market town and great base for exploring the area."

Dorothea – August 2020, Booking.com, Meadow Rise St Columb Major

"Brilliant location, lovely little house with everything you need."

Sarah, – August 2020, Air BnB – Meadow Rise St Columb Major

"The property was perfect."

Katie, August 2020 (Air BnB) – Bodannon Porthtowan

"Stayed here for a week and we thoroughly enjoyed it! It was somewhere different to where I had previously stayed in Cornwall and we loved the location! Porthtowan is a great location to access other parts of Cornwall both north and south for day trips. As well as being a short walk from its fantastic beach and 2 nice places to go for a drink or some food! The hot tub was great after coming back from a swim in the sea. Helen was a great host and replied to any enquiries straight away. Would definitely return and recommend to friends/family."

Alice, August 2020 (Air BnB) – Bodannon Porthtowan

"A great house with everything you need for a fun time in Porthtowan. The hot tub is brilliant after a day in the sea!"

Chris, August 2020 (Air BnB) – Bodannon Porthtowan

"We had an amazing week stay, the house was clean, comfortable and modern with all precautions taken to prevent the spread of COVID. The host helen was helpful and quick to respond when I had a question about our stay. The property is easy travelling distance to the coast with Newquay and Padstow close by. We found the kitchen to be well stocked with everything you could require and the extras on arrival of the basics milk, tea, coffee and biscuits was a lovely touch not to mention the bottle of wine. The only improvement I could ask for would be the availability of a travel cot and high chair but it was not the end of the world that we had to take our own. I will definitely remember this property for future Cornish holidays!"

Will – July 2020, Air BnB – Meadow Rise St Columb Major

"We had a lovely time at Bodannon at Towan Valley. The house was clean and extremely well equipped. The beds are exceptional both in comfort and the master bedroom has a huge super king size bed. Plenty of towels were there for your use and the hot tub was used every night by the younger members of our group. There was coffee tea sugar and milk for you there as well as all washing powders. The bottle of wine was a nice touch. The owners were informative of how to get into the place and also enquired about our holiday afterwards. It would have been 5 stars if a few minor things were done. The tv in the bedroom didn’t work but we were left a note about this and there were a couple of places where a leak had occurred and stained the wall and a quick touch of paint would solve this. None of this spoiled our holiday but if not remedied would add that extra bit of a five star feel. Be aware that Towan Valley is at the top of a steep hill and walking up it is a challenge for even the fittest of people. Towan Valley is ideal for exploring North Cornwall and is in easy reach of several beautiful places. If visiting this area again I would definitely recommend staying here. The free WiFi was good but be aware there is no phone signal on giffgaff O2 or Vodafone."

Daz 7003, 12/07/2020 Trip Advisor – Bodannon Porthtowan

"Meadow Rise is a little gem ideal for couples or small families wishing to get away from it all but ideally located to visit the many attractions of the area. The cosy cottage gives you everything you need for a relaxing holiday and the surrounding area with the stunning Cornish Coast and its lovely fishing villages is waiting to be explored. We can't recommend this property highly enough and we are really looking forward to coming back again soon."

Peter & Karin, Germany – Meadow Rise St Columb Major

"We have stayed at Meadow Rise a number of times over the last five years and find it a comfortable and well equipped holiday let. It is well presented and is a home from home, what more can anyone ask for in a holiday let. We would recommend staying there to anyone."

Catherine & Peter Adams – Meadow Rise St Columb Major

"Spent a week here with my family of 4 and could not have expected a lovelier home away from home. Extremely well presented and clean and they have thought of everything you could possibly ever need. Great location to get to all the great beaches and harbours and local shops all within walking distance . Had such a great time and have already booked our next holiday. Would highly recommend."

Julie, Aaron and family from Manchester – Meadow Rise St Columb Major

"Superb."

Alan – Feb 2020, Booking.com, Meadow Rise St Columb Major

Glorious Cornwall, stay with us and you will never want to go home!

At Cornish Holiday we offer wonderful, self-catering accommodation in Cornwall. With dramatic coastlines, years of mining history, rugged moorland, attractions and theme parks there really is nowhere better to spend time and create memories which will last forever.  Our properties are inspected every year and receive a star rating by Visit England, we are also members of PASC (Professional Association of Self Caterers), a wonderful way to reassure you and give peace of mind when booking your stay.
Every year Cornish Holiday donate to Cancer Research UK and by staying with us helps fund vital research.

Check Availability