Guest Reviews

Over the years we have received some wonderful compliments and very much appreciate receiving feedback from our guests.  Here are some recent testimonials and reviews from guests who have stayed.

Something slightly different.

Dave Williams has stayed with us three times and each time stayed in a different property so we asked him:-

Thanks for your email and both your review and film. It really is appreciated and we’re glad to hear you had a great time. We do hope to hear from you again but just out of interest as you’ve now stayed at 3 out of 4 of our properties which one did you enjoy the most? There’s no right or wrong answer – just be interesting to know!

Daves reply was:-
Hi Helen,

That's a good question. Each one has met a different need. I holiday with friends who have relatives in St Columb Major. When they stay with them I stay at Meadow Rise which is perfect for me, only down the road from them. We stayed as a group at Hengar Manor which was great with all the facilities onsite and we stayed as a group at Bodannnon which again was great. Meadow Rise has everything one person or a small family would need, very comfortable. Hengar Manor has everything you would need onsite and Bodannon sets a very high standard for a group or a family.

That's a very long way of saying I couldn't choose, all offer a high standard of accommodation and meet different needs.

Should have said the Digital Guide Book worked very well.

Dave Williams

Dave Williams 2020, 2021 and 2022 (Booked direct through Website) – Meadow Rise, 100 Hengar Manor, Bodannon

Absolutely fantastic stay!
Helen had thought of everything to make our stay even more comfortable with the added extras such as the cleaning pack etc. Beautiful lodge with lovely surroundings. Will definitely be returning in the future.

Response from Helen at Cornish Holiday.
Thank you for your lovely review. So pleased you had a great time and enjoyed our property. We would love to welcome you back soon.

Ali – September 2022 (Air BnB) – 100 Hengar Manor.

Lovely clean, well equipped place there wasn’t anything that hadn’t been thought of it was all there . Communication with Helen was great. Had a lovely time and would definitely come again and highly recommend.

Julia – August 2022 (Air BnB) – 100 Hengar Manor

House was perfect for our family of 3.
Great location so we could travel to different parts of Cornwall.
Good facilities on site (we booked into a slot at the pool, used the on site shop and had tea in the restaurant once)
Aspects were thought of throughout…from hand wash to biscuits, bottle opener to surface wipes we really didn’t need to take anything! And that was great!
The fan was much needed on some nights so that was fab and having a heated towel rail made our life much easier too on the wet days!
Our daughter loved being able to watch tv with us in close proximity.
Parking was great as you can see your vehicle from the house.
Directions and the welcome emails/contact/brochure where brilliant!!!
Would not hesitate to book again!

Shellie – August 2022 (Air BnB) – 91 Hengar Manor

We have had our first family holiday in years in this beautiful holiday home. We took our 87 ye old “not so mobile” grandma and she had a wonderful time. The house was a fabulous base and was great for the two rainy days we spent in doors playing cards and loving the hot tub!
Helen made our experience so easy with great communication, I will certainly be back we have all fallen in love with Cornwall and loved our week here it just wasn’t long enough.

Thank you for helping us make some wonderful family memories that will last a life time :)

Response from Cornish Holiday.
Thank you Dawn for your lovely review and we are so pleased to hear you had an amazing time. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Dawn – August 2022 (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

We had a fantastic holiday in Cornwall and we couldn't have asked for a better base camp than 100 Hengar Manor courtesy of Cornish Holiday.

Hengar Manor is a great location to stay in Cornwall. You can be in Padstow within 25 mins via car or at Tintagel castle in 30 mins. If you wanted to drive further south to St Ives, then your looking at roughly 1 hour 20 mins. So it's definitely a good location to be based.

The onsite facilities are great, the pool is clean and they also have other on site sports and entertainment on the evening.
Now, the base camp! 100 Hengar manor. We were welcomed with complimentary tea, coffee, biscuits, milk along with a welcome pack with lots of ideas for your days / evenings out in Cornwall.

The facility was very clean, cosy and easy to get around and find things. A lot of it is already well mapped out on the guidebook the owners send out roughly 1-2 weeks prior to your stay.

Kitchen is easy to get around, shower downstairs or if you fancy a relaxing bath then that is located upstairs.
The beds were comfy so you will be guaranteed an easy night's sleep especially as it's so quiet in the area you could hear a pin drop!

I literally have nothing bad to say about the property, it was our first time here. 2 adults and 3 children aged 11-13 and we all loved it.

I would highly recommend using Cornish holiday for your stay in Cornwall. And if you looking to stay near Bodmin, choose 100 Hengar Manor.

Response from Cornish Holiday:-
Hi Tom,
Thank you for your fantastic review, we are so pleased to hear you had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Tom Withers – August 2022 (Google.com) – 100 Hengar Manor

Stayed here for a week in Saint Columb Major. House was great value although the kitchen and bathroom could be updated to remain contemporary. However, for the price it remained a good value option to allow spending on eating out and attractions etc. Good parking facilities, house well setup and easy to operate appliances/devices due to clear instructions. Really enjoyed stay here and will book a return trip soon.

Michael Cottle – May 2022 (Google.com) – Meadow Rise

This is a great holiday home, we've stayed twice now, it really feels like a home from home. It's based in a lovely quiet village, which also has everything you need. The house is clean and tidy, it had everything we needed and more, including a bag of treats for our dog. Would definitely recommend, we've already booked for 2023.

Michelle Joseph – August 2022 (Google.com) – Meadow Rise

Hi Helen & Alec,
We really enjoyed our stay at 91 Hengar Manor. The property provided for our needs and when I was thinking 'it would be good to have .......' I found it! For example the collapsible washing bowl under one of the single beds was great for rinsing sand from wetsuits, which I did outside on the lawn.
Your welcome pack, wine and cleaning pack were generous - thank you. The kitchen was equipped with all we needed and the high speed hairdryer was very welcome, as were the lovely fluffy towels.
The Covid protection measures in the property gave us peace of mind as my son is extremely vulnerable, and I was impressed with the general cleanliness of the property and especially the shower doors which didn't have any watermarks at all - a real testament to a great clean.
One thing that I couldn't get to work was the DVD player, but that wasn't a huge hindrance as I had my laptop and played the DVD through that. I appreciated that we could have contacted you about this when in the property but it was such a minor thing that it didn't feel necessary.
We love Cornwall and WIFI connection is often problematic so your provision of reliable WIFI was a huge bonus to us. My son has learning difficulties and so having access to the internet and his usual programs meant that I had time to relax more fully than I might have otherwise.
Thank you for the obvious care & thought you put into your properties - this helped to make our hoilday all that we'd hoped for and I won't hesitate to recommend Cornish Holiday to my friends and colleagues.

Stephanie Shortland – June 2022 (Booked Direct) – 91 Hengar Manor

The accommodation was clean, well located, with all the amenities we needed. Communication with Helen was perfect, we had all the necessary information.
The hot tub was really nice at the end of the day.
Would definitely recommend.

Response from Helen at Cornish Holiday.
Thank you for your kind words, it's great to know you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be able to host you again.

Thibaut – June 2022 (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan.

Perfect Holiday Home.

Perfect holiday home for 8 adults (4 couples) or a large family. The four large bedrooms are fab. The whole holiday home is large, spacious and clean with the kitchen dinner and lounge, loads of space to be together but not to feel on top of one another. Hot tub really made it even in the rain.

Beautiful costal walk and beach right on your doorstep.

Hosts Helen & Alec where great. I will definitely be passing on this wonderful find to friends and family.

Response from Helen at Cornish Holiday
Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to be able to host you again in the future.

Richard & Sarah – June 2022 (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan.

Fine. location to explore Cornwall further

Everything was very clean and newly purchased, so mostly unused. Quiet environment. Beautiful holiday park with many facilities. Extremely narrow roads to get there.

(Translation into Dutch)
Alles was zeer schoon en nieuw aangeschaft, dus veelal ongebruikt. Rustige omgeving. Mooi vakantiepark met vele faciliteiten.
Uitermate smalle weggetjes om er te komen.

Robert – June 2022 (Booking.com) – 91 Hengar Manor.

Great value for money excellent hosts.

Very neat and clean

Shenese – June 2022 (Booking.com) – 91 Hengar Manor

A real home from home.

A real home from home. It had everything we needed. Very comfortable especially the beds. Quiet area but a short walk to centre of the village with shops and pubs.

Jenna – June 2022 (Booking.com) – Meadow Rise, St Columb Major

Amazing place

Very good location, within walking distance to stunning beach about 10 mins. House is very well equipped and there was everything we needed for our stay. Hot tub was an amazing bonus😁Helen was very responsive and helpful. Highly recommend.

Ella – June 2022 (Booking.com) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

This is such a lovely property to stay in. The accommodation is so well thought out, clean and comfortable. Our hosts have clearly thought about what makes the difference to a welcoming home from home stay with all the comforts. Refreshments on arrival, games, hairdryers, everything you could need in the kitchen including plenty of mugs, cutlery, glasses etc. And a cleaning pack with all that is needed. The location is lovely with the beach so close by, coastal walks and places to visit. I would definitely recommend our hosts and their lovely property.

Sue – June 2022 (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

Fantastic property.
Plenty of space, well thought out and clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and Helen couldn’t have been more helpful. Very responsive to our questions and we would recommend this property to anyone considering it. Only a short walk into the town/ beach, to note it is a steep hill to the town/beach. A great link up to the coastal path too, ideal for those days exploring the coastline.

Michelle – June 2022 (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan.

Excellent host.

The house was very clean and tidy, has all the things needed for a comfortable holiday. we were here for two weeks as a family of 4 and were very happy. By the end it felt like our home. 2 parking spaces which is good, warm conservatory and nice garden space. would highly recommend!

Jack – May 2022 (Air BnB) – Meadow Rise – St Columb Major

Family fun

Excellent accommodation fully stocked and very spacious. Highly recommended.

Anonymous – April 2022 (Booking.com) – 100 Hengar Manor

This bungalow is a great space for a small family trip, located in a great spot for trips around Cornwall.
The site is nice and quiet with great facilities and more nearby.
Helen’s communication was top, always had the info I needed and the web app was a great help too.
We would definitely go again!

Response from Helen
April 2022
We're glad to hear you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sam – April 2022 (Air BnB) – 91 Hengar Manor

5 Stars.
Lovely place to stay, it was exceptionally clean and tidy and the welcome package for us and our dog was really thought out. We had a lovely time and really enjoyed the Hot tub. Thank you for looking after us.

Response from Cornish Holiday:-
We are so pleased you had such a lovely time and thank you for giving us such a wonderful review. We very much look forward to welcoming you again soon. With best wishes Alec and Helen.

Le-Anne – April 2022 (Google) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

5/5
Very nice, well equipped holiday home. Kids enjoyed access to the swimming pool.

Location5.0 Service5.0 Rooms5.0

Cornish Holiday response:
Thank you very much for your lovely review Magda, its great the children enjoyed the pool. We would love to welcome you back in the future.

Magda – February 2022 (Google) – 100 Hengar Manor

5/5
Great quiet location but within walking distance to Porthtowan with its stunning beach and handy amenities. House was immaculate and very well equipped. Helen was very responsive and helpful. Highly recommend.

Service 5.0 Location 5.0 Rooms 5.0

Vanessa – February 2022 (Google) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

"A very nice modern property to accommodate up to 8 people.

The property was modern and well equipped, the hosts were very helpful - The hot tub was great and a welcome sight after a long costal walk! We will definitely consider a return to the property.

Scott – Jan 2022 (Booking.com) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

Great time spent here. Great location for costal walks and access to the sea. House is well equipped, clean and tidy. Good well stocked amenities close by, meant no need to use car once settled in. Location is peaceful as secluded from main road and village thoroughfare.

Fiona – Jan 2022 (Over New Year) (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan.

Fantastic, the property was stunning! Kept very clean and everything we needed. Along with fantastic customer service, everything was as described! The location was sensational also! We as a family cannot thank the hosts enough for the perfect get away.

Adam – December 2021 (Over Christmas) (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

Beautiful accommodation in an equally beautiful place!

Glen – November 2021 (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan.

It was a lovely accommodation in a beautiful area!
The pictures reflected the house perfectly. I would highly recommend!

Response from Helen at Cornish Holiday:-
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Madaleine – July 2021 (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

Helen & Alec were extremely friendly and accommodating.
The place was lovely and spacious and had everything you needed. I went with five friends and it was great fun.

Response from Helen at Cornish Holiday:-
Thanks for your lovely review. It's great to know you had a good time and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Charley – September 2021 (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

We were a group of 8 adults, a baby and a dog and we all felt we had plenty of space to spread out. The house is in a great location near the beach and coast path. The hot tub was a lovely treat! We had a small issue with a bathroom however Helen rectified this immediately and she was extremely quick to reply to all of our messages and questions. We would definitely recommend/stay here again.

May – October 2021 (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

Had a lovely holiday.
Accommodation clean, spacious and plenty of cups, cutlery etc. Liked getting dishwasher and washing machine tablets, tv was also great. Hot tub was lovely

Hazel – November 2021 (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

Superb holiday!

Amazing property in an excellent location.

Response from Helen at Cornish Holiday
Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Andy – August 2021 (Booking.com) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

The property was absolutely spotless upon our arrival. There was a cleaning pack and two welcome packs with biscuits, coffee, tea, milk sachets, and hot chocolate. Perfect to get started when you turn up. The property is well looked after and everything works as it should. We are a family of two adults and four children. The house was easily big enough for us to fit in for two weeks. It has a dedicated parking space and Hengar Manor is a really nice site - lots of space and well maintained throughout. We had a great time and would happily recommend the property to anyone looking to holiday in Cornwall.

Response from Helen at Cornish Holiday
Thanks for your lovely review. Glad you had a great time, we hope to hear from you again in the future.

Richard – August 2021 (Air BnB) – Hengar Manor – St Tudy, Bodmin.

Love this place

Its our 3rd time staying here and we have already booked for next year. We love this place so much . Its so lovely and clean and has everything you could ever need. It's location is perfect for getting about. It has all the shops you could need and also has a lovely cafe that do amazing cakes , hot drinks and food. We cannot wait to return . Would definitely recommend it to others . Also the complimentary chilled wine was a nice way to start the holiday

W385ORjulies – August 2021 (Tripadvisor) – Meadow Rise – St Columb Major

Superb

Easy access to the beach

Wasn't clear that dogs weren't allowed during peak season, however host was very accommodating and allowed our boys to come still.

Cornish Holiday response:
Thank you for your review. When you booked with us we were still unsure about allowing dogs all year but have since made the change to allow up to 2 dogs all year round. Sorry for any confusion this may have caused.

Harriet – July 2021- (Booking.com) – Bodannon, Porthtowan.

Good value and nice little area/base to get about.

Spacious and comfy accommodation. Good amenities. We especially liked the beach box, used it everyday and good value. Maybe worth adding wetsuits and charging a bit more.

Our only one issue was there was lots of boys playing football on the green til at least 10 every night and banging the ball against our door. Became a pain as we have a baby and young one who were kept awake. Nothing to do with the property tho.

Cornish Holiday response:
Thank you for your review, it's good to know you liked the property and the beach box. Sorry to hear you had some issues with other holidaymakers. We hope this wouldn't put you off returning. Kind regards, Helen

James – August 2021 (Booking.com) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

Lovely house. Great facilities, loved it being in a quieter area.

The sofa was very large. Supply’s around the property. We didn’t need anything.

Kel – August 2021 (Booking.com) – Meadow Rise – St Columb Major.

Fabulous Accommodation.

Beds are extremely clean and very fresh as well as so comfortable. Pillows very soft and a quiet location for a good night sleep. Communication with Helen is excellent as is the welcome pack and gift of wine. Whole of the accommodation was immaculate and Covid secure. Lots of storage and plenty of space. Super amenities in the lodge, dishwasher etc.
On site the organisation of the pool was good although spa a little too cool and a very relaxing atmosphere in the Tavern.

Michele – August 2021 (Booking.com) – Hengar Manor – St Tudy. Bodmin

Comfortable house in a good location

Very comfortable and spacious house. Nice holiday park and facilities (swimming pool, fishing lakes, small but useful convenience store, etc). Good location for travelling to beaches and attractions in Cornwall

Nothing really not to like, only very minor flaws to mention - narrow roads in the area, some time required to travel to the main resorts, some house features a bit outdated.

Marco – August 2021 (Booking.com) – Hengar Manor – St Tudy, Bodmin

Excellent holiday home

Spacious, very well equipped, clean and comfortable. Hot tub great. Really good welcome pack.

Penny – June 2021 (Booking.com) – Bodannon, Porthtowan.

It was lovely accommodation in a beautiful area!
The pictures reflected the house perfectly. I would highly recommend!

Madaleine – July 2021 (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan.

Good sized holiday home

Plenty of room, two bathrooms, well equipped kitchen, excellent location.

Attila – June 2021 (Booking.com) – Hengar Manor – St Tudy, Bodmin

Amazing Stay - Great Hosts

Everything was great and great value for money. Highly recommended.
It could have a few more toilet rolls.

Cornish Holiday response:
Thank you for your review, good to hear you had a great time. We will pass your comments onto the cleaners. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Dimitriospeg – June 2021 (Booking.com) Hengar Manor – St Tudy, Bodmin

Perfect holiday home

Everything was perfect

Fantastic house, had everything we needed, really clean,
A lovely welcome package ( tea,coffee,sugar,biscuits,) milk in the fridge and a nice bottle of wine 🍷
Also a welcome goody bag for both our dogs 🐕, lovely touch,,
Will definitely be returning
Thank you Helen and Alec, keep up the good work

Anonymous – June 2021 (Booking.com) Meadow Rise – St Columb Major

Go have yourself a wonderful time you will not be disappointed.

Excellent. Well thought out accommodation, plenty of room to move about, The kitchen was well stocked with all the essentials a family would need. The kitchen, living room, bedrooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean. A more than adequate supply of sanitisers. The hosts sorted out a food order from a local farm which was waiting for us on arrival.
The beach, surfing, cafe, pubs and convenience store were within walking distance. All in all I would recommend a stay, a most pleasant holiday had by my family. Will be back again in the near future.



Leslie – May 2021 (Booking.com) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

Amazing location!
Beautiful beach just 5 mins walk away with stunning sunsets! Hot tub was amazing. Great communication! Will be coming again!

Zasha – June 2021 (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

Lovely base for exploring

Perfect location for exploring the local beaches and activities, mostly that were toddler and dog friendly (of which there were hundreds!). A small walk to the local shops, bakery and pubs - accommodation was perfect for our little family, the bathroom is small but has everything you need and makes good use of the space. Again, the garden was small but our toddler really enjoyed the space - there is a playground nearby in case you need it too! Neighbours were really friendly, as were the locals! Highly recommend!

Sally – June 2021 (Booking.com) – Meadow Rise – St Columb Major

A lovely family holiday.
The holiday home was lovely, very well equipped, clean and very comfortable.
The location is very good for exploring Cornwall. There was nothing not to like.

Julie – May 2021 (Booking.com) – Hengar Manor – St Tudy, Bodmin

Lovely Holiday Home.
House was really comfortable with everything we needed. Washing machine was a god send. We was left a welcome pack of tea coffee and biscuits and the bottle of wine was lovely that was left in the fridge. Also there was a box of everything for us to use for the barbecue. Would not hesitate to recommend this holiday home to others. It was also hot and sunny the whole week we was there. Checkout time we felt was a bit too early. Could of done with check out being 10am rather than 9am

Cornish Holiday response:
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We do understand about check out times but we need to give our cleaners as much time as possible with all the extra checks they need to do.

Cheryl – June 2021 (Booking.com) – Meadow Rise – St Columb Major

Amazing Place.
The place was amazing, very clean with everything we needed for a great holiday. Loved the place and the surrounding area, definitely worth a visit and would love to stay again.

Wendy – June 2021 (Booking.com) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

An excellent stay! Clean, comfortable and well equipped. Conveniently situated for travelling around.

Gary – May 2021 (Booking.com) – Meadow Rise – St Columb Major

Excellent holiday venue. Good location, close to everything in that part of Cornwall, good facilities on site including an indoor swimming pool. Comfortable, clean and very safe holiday home with everything you need.

D.Williams – May 2021 (Website Booking) (Review on Trip Advisor) – Hengar Manor – St Tudy, Bodmin

Fantastic. All perfect.

Fabio – April 2021 (Booking.com) – Hengar Manor – St Tudy, Bodmin

Helens place was such a lovely holiday home away from home! It was the perfect size for me and my boyfriend and was around 20 minute drive to Newquay where we went surfing. On sunny days the conservatory gets super warm like a sauna which was great for drying the wetsuits! Great sized kitchen, comfy beds, lots of utensils and all the right appliances, great water pressure and lovely garden! Such a perfect stay and would definitely look to stay again when we next get to come down south.

Eloise – May 2021 (Air BnB) – Meadow Rise – St Columb Major

Beautiful place
We had the most beautiful Christmas in this lovely apartment. The hot tub was such a lovely touch. The bedrooms are all great size and the area was extremely clean and quiet. Will be booking again next year for sure :)

Indianna – December 2020 (Trip Advisor) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

A Great venue in a lovely Cornish location. Sparklingly clean and great host.

Phil – December 2020 (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

Superb

Everything was clean as informed. Not the property fault but there was no external lights on the pathway

Cornish Holiday response:
Thanks for your review. Glad you had a good stay. We will bring up the lighting on the pathway with the management company.

Mark – 7th November 2020 (Booking.com) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

Fabulous eco lodge minutes from the beach- lots of space for a family of five and a brilliant hot tub to keep kids entertained, even in the rain !

Annabel – October 2020 (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

A brilliant space in a perfect location for exploring Cornwall! The house was very clean when we arrived and had everything we could possibly need for our holiday. We will definitely be back- thank you!

Megan – October 2020 (Air BnB) – Meadow Rise – St Columb Major

Great value, well equipped, quiet location, everything you need would highly recommend.

Martin – 13th September 2020 (Booking.com) – Meadow Rise St Columb Major

"A lovely great clean and tidy property, well equipped and a short walk to the beach. Great, responsive hosts. A pleasurable visit."

Lucy – October 2020 (Air BnB) – Bodannon, Porthtowan

"We arrived to a lovely clean Covid safe house with all precautions in place. The house is comfortable and very cosy. The bed was extremely comfortable. Everything we needed for our stay was there also added extra touches. The communication from the owners is clear and very informative. We would love to return and hope to do so in the near future. Thankyou for a lovely stay. Well located for all nearby places to visit."

Amanda – September 2020. Trip Advisor – Meadow Rise St Columb Major

"Excellent property and perfect for a beach holiday. The location was ideal for our holiday. With the beach just a short walk away, the 'beach box' provided everything we needed including body boards (and bags) and buckets/nets for rock pooling.

Upon our arrival it was clear to see that a lot of time has been invested in cleaning and making the property COVID safe, this included plenty of hand sanitiser, anti-bac wipes etc.

At the time of booking our holiday, we ordered the 'Brownie Box', containing locally sourced strawberries, Cornish Clotted Cream and locally made chocolate brownies, which was in the property on our arrival and was a lovely tasty welcome when we got there.
To finish each day, we were able to relax and unwind in the private hot tub.

Needless to say, we will be visiting again!

Cubley D, 21/09/2020 Trip Advisor – Bodannon Porthtowan

"Very enjoyable. Would definitely stay again."

Mark, September 2020, Booking.com – Bodannon Porthtowan

"Really lovely stay at Helen and Alec’s property. The location is brilliant - the nearest beach is only a short walk, and there’s a nice pub/restaurant, a chip shop, and a surf hire place down there too. Best to buy your food and drinks on the way in as the local shop was quite small, but great for the little extras you need."

Kat, September 2020 (Air BnB) – Bodannon Porthtowan

"Great value. Really nice property and in a good location. Would definitely recommend!"

Henry, September 2020 (Air BnB) – Bodannon Porthtowan

"A lovely stay, very clean and ideal location to the beach. The hot tub was a fab added extra would definitely recommend."

Lucy, September 2020 (Air BnB) – Bodannon Porthtowan

"Great holiday home. This is our second time back and it's just as good as I remembered . Immaculately clean and now with added precautions for this current time. Hand gel outside the front door as well as inside and a nice thoughtful touch of complementary masks and handgels. All that aside the house is stunning . Great locations with all stunning beaches within a short drive. A good range of shops in the village. Nice tray of goodies on arrival and a nice bottle of wine in the fridge as well as milk and fresh orange. Very much appreciated after the long drive. Have already booked for next year and cannot wait. Highly recommended"

J. Savage, August 2020, Meadow Rise St Columb Major

"Home from home. First visit, will definitely be back. Very clean, well equipped following the covid guidelines. Perfect for exploring this part of Cornwall."

D5335LQdavew, August 2020, Trip Advisor, Meadow Rise, St Columb Major

"Lovely. Second time here cannot wait to come again lovely clean home with everything you need just love Cornwall."

Zooty – August 2020, Trip Advisor, Meadow Rise St Columb Major

"Very well maintained small house in nice market town and great base for exploring the area."

Dorothea – August 2020, Booking.com, Meadow Rise St Columb Major

"Brilliant location, lovely little house with everything you need."

Sarah, – August 2020, Air BnB – Meadow Rise St Columb Major

"The property was perfect."

Katie, August 2020 (Air BnB) – Bodannon Porthtowan

"Stayed here for a week and we thoroughly enjoyed it! It was somewhere different to where I had previously stayed in Cornwall and we loved the location! Porthtowan is a great location to access other parts of Cornwall both north and south for day trips. As well as being a short walk from its fantastic beach and 2 nice places to go for a drink or some food! The hot tub was great after coming back from a swim in the sea. Helen was a great host and replied to any enquiries straight away. Would definitely return and recommend to friends/family."

Alice, August 2020 (Air BnB) – Bodannon Porthtowan

"A great house with everything you need for a fun time in Porthtowan. The hot tub is brilliant after a day in the sea!"

Chris, August 2020 (Air BnB) – Bodannon Porthtowan

"We had an amazing week stay, the house was clean, comfortable and modern with all precautions taken to prevent the spread of COVID. The host helen was helpful and quick to respond when I had a question about our stay. The property is easy travelling distance to the coast with Newquay and Padstow close by. We found the kitchen to be well stocked with everything you could require and the extras on arrival of the basics milk, tea, coffee and biscuits was a lovely touch not to mention the bottle of wine. The only improvement I could ask for would be the availability of a travel cot and high chair but it was not the end of the world that we had to take our own. I will definitely remember this property for future Cornish holidays!"

Will – July 2020, Air BnB – Meadow Rise St Columb Major

"We had a lovely time at Bodannon at Towan Valley. The house was clean and extremely well equipped. The beds are exceptional both in comfort and the master bedroom has a huge super king size bed. Plenty of towels were there for your use and the hot tub was used every night by the younger members of our group. There was coffee tea sugar and milk for you there as well as all washing powders. The bottle of wine was a nice touch. The owners were informative of how to get into the place and also enquired about our holiday afterwards. It would have been 5 stars if a few minor things were done. The tv in the bedroom didn’t work but we were left a note about this and there were a couple of places where a leak had occurred and stained the wall and a quick touch of paint would solve this. None of this spoiled our holiday but if not remedied would add that extra bit of a five star feel. Be aware that Towan Valley is at the top of a steep hill and walking up it is a challenge for even the fittest of people. Towan Valley is ideal for exploring North Cornwall and is in easy reach of several beautiful places. If visiting this area again I would definitely recommend staying here. The free WiFi was good but be aware there is no phone signal on giffgaff O2 or Vodafone."

Daz 7003, 12/07/2020 Trip Advisor – Bodannon Porthtowan

"Meadow Rise is a little gem ideal for couples or small families wishing to get away from it all but ideally located to visit the many attractions of the area. The cosy cottage gives you everything you need for a relaxing holiday and the surrounding area with the stunning Cornish Coast and its lovely fishing villages is waiting to be explored. We can't recommend this property highly enough and we are really looking forward to coming back again soon."

Peter & Karin, Germany – Meadow Rise St Columb Major

"We have stayed at Meadow Rise a number of times over the last five years and find it a comfortable and well equipped holiday let. It is well presented and is a home from home, what more can anyone ask for in a holiday let. We would recommend staying there to anyone."

Catherine & Peter Adams – Meadow Rise St Columb Major

"Spent a week here with my family of 4 and could not have expected a lovelier home away from home. Extremely well presented and clean and they have thought of everything you could possibly ever need. Great location to get to all the great beaches and harbours and local shops all within walking distance . Had such a great time and have already booked our next holiday. Would highly recommend."

Julie, Aaron and family from Manchester – Meadow Rise St Columb Major

"Superb."

Alan – Feb 2020, Booking.com, Meadow Rise St Columb Major

Glorious Cornwall, stay with us and you will never want to go home!

At Cornish Holiday we offer wonderful, self-catering accommodation in Cornwall. With dramatic coastlines, years of mining history, rugged moorland, attractions and theme parks there really is nowhere better to spend time and create memories which will last forever.  Our properties are inspected every year and receive a star rating by Visit England, we are also members of PASC (Professional Association of Self Caterers), a wonderful way to reassure you and give peace of mind when booking your stay.
Every year Cornish Holiday donate to Cancer Research UK and by staying with us helps fund vital research.

Check Availability